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S.B. 1383   Jackson      Paid Family Leave  
 
 



SENATE COMMITTEE ON BUDGET AND FISCAL REVIEW  
Senator Holly Mitchell, Chair 

2019 - 2020  Regular  
 
Bill No:            SB 1383  Hearing Date:     June 24, 2020 
Author: Jackson 
Version: June 23, 2020    As amended 
Urgency: No Fiscal: Yes 
Consultant: Anita Lee  
 
 

Subject:  Family Leave 
 
 
Summary: This bill makes statutory changes to the California Family Rights Act, New 
Parent Leave Act, and Pregnancy Disability Leave. 
  
Existing law: 
 
California Family Rights Act (CFRA) 
 
1) Entitles, pursuant to the CFRA and the federal Family and Medical Leave Act 

(FMLA), required to be taken concurrently, eligible employees of covered 
employers with 50 or more employees, if the employee worked 1,250 hours in the 
prior 12 months, to:  
 
a) Take up to 12 workweeks of unpaid, job-protected leave during a 12-month 

period for specified family care and medical leave reasons. 
b) Guaranteed reinstatement to the same or comparable position, as specified. 
c) Continued group health coverage during the duration of the leave.  
(Government Code §12945.2) 
 

2) Defines “family care and medical leave” as any of the following:   
 
a) Leave for reason of the birth of a child of the employee, the placement of a child 

with an employee in connection with the adoption or foster care of the child by 
the employee, or the serious health condition of a child of the employee. 

b) Leave to care for a seriously ill parent or spouse. 
c) Leave because of an employee’s own serious health condition. 

 
3) Defines “child” as a biological, adopted, or foster child, a stepchild, a legal ward, or 

a child of a person standing in loco parentis who is either under 18 years of age or 
an adult dependent child.  
 

4) Defines “parent” as a biological, foster, or adoptive parent, a stepparent, a legal 
guardian, or other person who stood in loco parentis to the employee when the 
employee was a child. 

 
5) Stipulates that eligible employees must have at least 12 months of service with the 

employer, and at least 1,250 hours of service during those 12 months, to qualify for 
family care and medical leave under CFRA.  
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6) Specifies that in any case in which both parents entitled to leave under CFRA are 

employed by the same employer, the employer shall not be required to grant leave 
in connection with the birth, adoption, or foster care of a child that would allow the 
parents family care and medical leave totaling more than the 12 workweeks. 
[Government Code §12945.2(q)] 
 

New Parent Leave Act 
  
7) Establishes the New Parent Leave Act which prohibits an employer with 20 or more 

employees in a 75-mile radius to refuse to grant an employee request to take up to 
12 weeks of unpaid leave to bond with a new child within one year of the birth, 
adoption, or foster care placement of the child if the employee worked 1,250 hours 
in the prior 12 months. (Government Code §12945.6)  
 

8) Requires the employer to provide a guarantee of employment in the same or 
comparable position upon return, as specified, and requires that the employer 
maintain and pay for continued group health coverage for employees during the 
duration of the parental leave. 

 
9) Specifies that in any case in which both parents entitled to leave are employed by 

the same employer, the employer is not required to grant leave allowing leave that 
totals more than the 12 weeks. The employer may, but is not required to, grant 
simultaneous leave to both employees. 

 
10) Specifies that the New Parent Leave does not apply to an employee who is subject 

to both CFRA and FMLA (applicable to employers of 50 or more employees).  
 
Paid Family Leave  
 
11) Establishes the State Disability Insurance (SDI) program as a partial wage-

replacement plan funded through employee payroll deductions that is available 
[through the Disability Insurance and PFL programs] to eligible individuals who are 
unable to work due to sickness or injury of the employee (including pregnancy), the 
sickness or injury of a family member, or the birth, adoption, or foster care 
placement of a new child.   
 

12) States that PFL provides eligible employees with up to six weeks of wage 
replacement benefits to take time off work to care for a seriously ill child, spouse, 
parent, grandparent, grandchild, sibling, or domestic partner, to bond with a minor 
child within one year of the birth or placement of the child in connection with foster 
care or adoption, or (beginning on January 1, 2021) to participate in a qualifying 
exigency related to the covered active duty or call to covered active duty of the 
individual’s spouse, domestic partner, child, or parent in the Armed Forces of the 
United States. (Unemployment Insurance Code §3301) 

  
Effective July 1, 2020, PFL wage replacement benefits will increase from six weeks 
to eight weeks for all bonding and care-giving claims. 
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13) States that PFL provides wage replacement equal to one-seventh of the 

employee’s weekly benefit amount for each full day during which the individual is 
unable to work, a wage replacement of approximately 60-70 percent depending on 
income. (Unemployment Insurance Codes §2655 and §3301)  
 

14) States that PFL does not provide job protection or return to work rights nor does it 
require employers to provide continued health coverage during the leave. 
  

Pregnancy Disability Leave 
 
15) States that Pregnancy Disability Leave (PDL), under the Fair Employment and 

Housing Act, requires private employers with five or more employees and public 
employers to provide up to four months of unpaid, job-protected leave for 
pregnancy, childbirth or related conditions.  (Government Code §12945) 
 
a) Employees may use accrued vacation and paid sick leave during PDL. 
b) Employees are entitled to reasonable accommodations and reinstatement to the 

job held before PDL began.  
c) Employers are required to continue the employee’s health coverage. 

 
Proposed Law:  This bill makes the following changes to existing law, and will be 
effective on January 1, 2021: 
 
California Family Rights Act (CFRA) Provisions 
  
1) Expands the scope of the CFRA to prohibit employers with one or more employees 

to refuse to grant an employee request to take up to 12 weeks of unpaid leave for 
family care and medical leave if the employee had 180 days of service with the 
employer.    
 

2) Expands the definition of “family care and medical leave” to include: 
a) Leave to care for a grandparent, grandchild, sibling, or domestic partner who 

has a serious health condition.  
b) Leave because of a qualifying exigency related to the covered active duty or call 

to covered active duty of an employee’s spouse, domestic partner, child, or 
parent in the Armed Forces of the United States, as specified. 
 

3) Expands the definition of “child” under CFRA to include a child of a domestic 
partner, or a person to whom the employee stands in loco parentis, however, 
eliminates the requirement that the child be under the age of 18 years of age or an 
adult dependent child.  
 

4)  Provides definitions for “sibling,” “parent-in-law,” “grandchild,” and “grandparent.”  
 
5) Deletes from existing law a provision specifying that, if both parents are employed 

by the same employer and are entitled to leave, the employer is not required to 
grant leave in connection with the birth, adoption, or foster care of a child that would 
allow the parents leave to be greater than 12 weeks. 
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6) Deletes from existing law a provision that authorizes an employer to refuse 

reinstatement of an employee returning from leave to the same or comparable 
positions under specified conditions. This change thereby entitles an employee 
guaranteed reinstatement to the same or comparable position. 

 
New Parent Leave Act 
 
7) Repeals the entire provisions of the New Parent Leave Act enacted in 2017.  

 
Pregnancy Disability Leave Provisions 
 
8) Expands the scope of PDL to require employers with one or more employees to 

allow an employee disabled by pregnancy, childbirth or a related medical condition 
to take leave, to maintain and pay for health plan when the employee takes leave, 
and to provide reasonable accommodations.  

 
Comments: As noted above, California has several medical leaves under which an 
employee may be able to take time off work to care for their personal illness, that of 
specified family members or for bonding with a new child. Below is a brief summary of 
some and their eligibility requirements.  

    

   CFRA/FMLA  
(Job Protected) 

PFL 
(No Job Protection) 

PDL 
(Job 
Protected) 

NPL  
(Job Protected) 

Employers 
Covered  

50 or more 
employees in 75 mile 
radius of worksite 

One or more 
(employee pays, 
employee gets) 

Five or more 
employees 

20 or more 
employees 

Employee 
Eligibility  

Worked 1,250 hours 
in prior 12 months 

Once employee 
earns $300 in base 
period for fund 
contribution 

Immediate as 
necessary 

Worked 1,250 
in prior 12 
months  

Reason 
for Leave 

Employee serious 
health condition; 
seriously ill family 
member care; bond 
with newborn or newly 
placed adopted or 
foster child 

Care for seriously ill 
family member; 
bond with a child 
within 1year of birth, 
foster care or 
adoption 
placement; or 
participate in 
qualifying active 
duty exigency  

Disability due 
to pregnancy, 
childbirth or 
related 
medical 
condition  

Bond with a 
child w/in 1 
year of birth, 
adoption or 
foster care 
placement 

Length of 
Leave 

12 weeks in 12-month 
period 

6 weeks in 12-
month period 

Up to 4 
months 

Up to 12 weeks 

Paid or 
Unpaid  

Unpaid, may run 
concurrent with other 
paid leave 

Partial wage 
replacement  

Unpaid, may 
run concurrent 
with SDI for 
partial wage 
replacement 

Unpaid, 
employee can 
use vacation, 
paid sick time  

Continued      
Health 
Coverage 

Yes No Yes Yes 
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Support:   None on file. 
 
Opposed:  None on file. 
 
 

-- END -- 
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