Archives: 2015-16 Legislative Session

Welcome to the Standing Committee on Budget and Fiscal Review

Hearing - January 14, 2020 at 11:00 a.m. Subject: Overview of the Governor's 2021-22 Proposed Budget

January 14, 2021 - Agenda 

DOF - 2021-22 Governor's Budget 

LAO - 2021-22 Overview of the Governor's Budget 

Summary of the Governor's Proposed 2021-22 Budget 

 

Please email comments or Letters to:

SBUD.Committee@senate.ca.gov

 

Teleconference Instructions:

Due to the statewide stay-at-home order and guidance on physical distancing, seating for committee hearings will be very limited for press and for the public. All are encouraged to watch our hearing from its live stream on the Senate’s website at https://www.senate.ca.gov/

We encourage the public to submit written testimony before the hearing through the position letter portal. Please note that any written testimony submitted to the committee is considered public comment and may be read into the record or reprinted.

The Capitol will be open for attendance of committee hearings, but the public is strongly encouraged to participate via the web portal or telephonically.

Information regarding a call-in option for testimony will be made available and updated the night prior to the hearing date.

Senate Committee on Budget and Fiscal Review hearing call-in information 

Participant number: 844-291-6364

ACCESS CODE:   3372773

Please note: In order for your testimony to be heard clearly, you must mute any devices you are using to live stream the committee hearing prior to calling into the teleconference service. Please do not testify using speakerphone or bluetooth, this can cause acoustic feedback and make it very difficult to hear your testimony. 
  • Upon calling in, you will be placed in a “waiting room” where you will be muted but you can listen to the committee hearing as you wait.
  • When a committee moves to public comment, a moderator will ask for anyone who is wishing to testify in “Support” of the bill to please press 1-0.  The moderator will again prompt those waiting in “Opposition” when the committee moves to opposition.  You should press 1-0 when you are prompted by the moderator – be sure to listen for support or opposition and DO NOT press 1-0 until the proper position has been asked for. 
  • When you press 1-0 on your phone, you will wait and an operator will assign you a line number, at that time you will be placed in the queue for identification.  Remember your line number, the moderator will call out that number to identify YOU when it is your turn to testify.  OF IMPORTANT NOTE: If you press 1-0 a second time, you will remove yourself from the queue and you will not be identified to testify. Every time you press 1-0 you either put yourself “In queue” or take yourself “Out of queue” so listen carefully, and press 1-0 only once when you are prompted by the moderator.
  • When you are successfully in the queue, with your assigned line number, the moderator will call out your line number, open your line, and at that time you may address the committee. You must have your own phone unmuted before you begin testimony.

A more detailed explanation of the teleconference instructions can be found by clicking the “Teleconference Instructions” 

 

WE ARE STILL WORKING AND ARE ABLE TO ASSIST YOU

To protect public health and slow the transmission of the CoronaVirus (COVID-19), the State Capitol is closed to the Public.  However, we are working remotely to continue to serve you. 

  • We are receiving office phone calls and responding to all email communication during the business hours of 9:00 am ~ 5:00 pm ~ Monday through Friday, excluding holidays. 

  • We will continue to receive letters via fax, and mail.  

  • We will continue to keep our website up to date on the status of our hearings.

Please note the various ways we are available to assist you: Committee phone (916) 651-4103  Fax: (916) 668-7004

Committee Staff is available by email

Subcommittee No. 1 on Education

Elisa Wynne – K-12 and Child Care - elisa.wynne@sen.ca.gov

Anita Lee – Higher Education and Labor - anita.lee@sen.ca.gov

Subcommittee No. 2 on Resources and Transportation

Joanne Roy – Resources - joanne.roy@sen.ca.gov and James Hacker - Energy -  James.hacker@sen.ca.gov

Subcommittee No. 3 on Health and Human Services

Scott Ogus – Health - scott.ogus@sen.ca.gov

Dr. Renita Polk – Human Services - renita.polk@sen.ca.gov

Subcommittee No. 4 on State Administration

Yong Salas – State Administration, General Government and Local Government - yong.salas@sen.ca.gov -

James Hacker - Housing and Homelessness -  james.hacker@sen.ca.gov

Joe Stephenshaw – Tax - joe.stephenshaw@sen.ca.gov and Nora Brackbill - nora.brackbill@sen.ca.gov 

Subcommittee No. 5 on Public Safety, the Judiciary, Transportation and Labor

Dr. Christopher Francis – Public Safety and Judiciary - christopher.francis@sen.ca.gov 

 James Hacker - Transportation - james.hacker@sen.ca.gov 

Yong Salas – Office of Emergency Services - yong.salas@sen.ca.gov 

Anita Lee - Labor and Employee Compensation - anita.lee@sen.ca.gov 

For Dept. of Finance Section 36 Letters and JLBC Responses - Please see Publications tab above.

Members:

Senator Nancy Skinner (Chair)
Senator Jim Nielsen (Vice Chair)
Senator Anna M. Caballero
Senator Dave Cortese
Senator Brian Dahle
Senator María Elena Durazo
Senator Susan Talamantes Eggman
Senator John Laird
Senator Mike McGuire
Senator Melissa A. Melendez
Senator Dave Min
Senator Josh Newman
Senator Rosilicie Ochoa Bogh
Senator Richard Pan
Senator Henry I. Stern
Senator Bob Wieckowski
Senator Scott Wilk
Vacancy

Committee Address

Staff